Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

56 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Volucrine - The Clockwork Tyrant

The Clockwork Tyrant
by Fiona Murphy at 23 June 2014, 6:18 AM

VOLUCRINE describe themselves as ‘Post-Modern Melancholic Metal’ and in many ways it’s hard not to make comparisons to their fellow Finns, HIM.

Like Ville Valo’s band of not-so-merry men, VOLUCRINE have anthemic choruses, a flair for the dramatic and the potential for commercial appeal – particularly on “One Must Stay” which could probably even be played on Radio One. I is emotive without being \[too] cheesy. But that’s where the similarities end with their countrymen.

Despite moments of introspection punctuating the EP, the band have huge riffs and are most definitely, a metal band at heart. The vocals are a real strong point - the sung parts evoke SYSTEM OF A DOWN’S Daron Malakian while the metal growls bring to mind IN FLAMES’s Anders Fridén.

VOLUCRINE’s official bio says their music has been borne from difficult personal events, and this can be felt in the music’s moments of darkness and then ability to sound light and hopeful, as if striving to overcome and finally soaring over circumstances.

This is most prominent on third track “Heartquake”, which has an almost instantly hummable chorus.

However, for me, opening track “The Clockwork Tyrant”, which lent its name to the EP, was my personal favorite for its swaggering riffs and off-kilter rhythms.

It’s hard to believe that “The Clockwork Tyrant” is the band’s second EP as they have a confidence you could easily imagine at home in big venues. It will be interesting to see how they develop as a band and what a full length album would bring. Definitely one to watch.

3 Star Rating

1. The Clockwork Tyrant
2. Heartquake
3. One Must Stay
4. Acid Raindance
Jupe Velin – Vocals
Joona Lapilainen – Guitar
Antti Heikkilä – Guitar
Jarmo Hienonen – Guitar
Joni Kyynäräinen – Bass
Atte Marttinen – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green