Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Voodoo Six - Simulation Game

Voodoo Six
Simulation Game
by Craig Rider at 23 February 2020, 12:15 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: VOODOO SIX; signed via Explorer1 Music, hailing from England - performing Hard Rock, on their sophomoric album entitled: "Simulation Game" (released March 6th, 2020).

Since formation in 2003; the quintet in question have 2 albums in their discography do far: "Make Way For The King" (released in 2016), and this here 2nd release entitled: "Simulation Game". 10 tracks ranging at around 48:37; VOODOO SIX arrange an intricately designed formula of heavy-hitting hard rock developments. "The Traveller" begins the record; conveying amplified adrenaline, boistrously bouncy crunchiness & a groovy execution of flamboyantly composed finesse. Gravitating concretely gnarly harmonies barraged into a frenzied component of rocketing versatility, riveting with rollicking rhythms & vehemently unique symphonies in contrast with the meticulously yet thunderous performances ramify with – implementing killer virtuosities and a solid slab quintessential quirkiness.

Consisting of Nik Taylor‐Stoakes on vocals; the frontman excels with rawly rough throatiness, pipes of clean, high-pitched lungs in which yell with profusely robust professionalisms. "Gone Forever" articulates a dynamically creative dose of meaty pursuits, potently snappy dimensions and hybrid dexterity. Demonstrating blistering firepower, frolicking chugs & galloping guitar hooks from duo guitarist's Matt Pearce & Tom Gentry. Both distribute chaotic shreds that roar with primitively volatile momentum, sonically seamless snappiness and attributing a healthy aesthetic of organic substance while manifesting striking outbursts of outrè panache juxtaposed into a fierce maelstrom of rocking physique. "Liar And A Theif" supplies strumming riffs, and a borderline foundation of hauntingly eerie strings transistioned with punchy weightiness while smothered with prodegiously steely precision.

Audible bassist Tony Newton injects infectiously detailed thumpiness; pulsating with trailblazing pummelling, while revolved around a diligent flair of fluidly polished sound production stability. "Inherit My Shadow" portrays experimental embellishments of orchestral songwriting musicianship; providing wildly rushing remedies, razor-sharp melodies & immersively hasty jumpiness. Lacerating killer persistence, persevered with distinguishable craftsmanship expertise. "Last To Know" forges distinctively complex inventivities; as hammering drummer Joe Lazarus batters his steel with rambunctious results, vibrantly pounding uplifting tightness & wonderously relentless skill. Energizing a grandiose grandure of rapidly swift nimbleness, monsterously mighty moods & a zestful vibe of sultry jazziness.

"Lost" compiles fierce drums; fused into a grungy snare style, as guitars flow into an impactful array of rampantly rigourous kicks…empowered into an electrifying mass of majestic systematics & ballad-esquire anthems of sorts. This territory transcends into "Never Beyond Repair"; accompanied with meaningful lyricisms, elegantly exquisite instrumental sections while smothered with scattering rituals of easy-listening fabrications…amalgating rich styles & variations that stomp with mandatory patterns that flow into a strong silver lining of potentially talented yet traditional fundamentals - it is a kind of love-song that we all have gone through…if you will. "Brake" is a full-throttle onslaught; assaulting eardrums furiously with stampeding pulverizations, clean cords that sing with succulent shine & racing subjugation…establishing catchy equalities for good measure.

The penultimate song: "Control" is a belting neckbreaker; fuelled into a face-melting rampage of sublime characteristics, culminating an enticing embodiment of chunky sophistication with remarkably uncompromising traits. Overall concluding "Simulation Game" with the closing epic track: "One Of Us"; relished with thick overarchs of towering savagery, refreshing yet revelling thrash mechanics…I am compelled to say that I discovered a brilliant record that definitely deserves a first time listen. It is an enjoyably entertaining spin, that a lot of rockers should be fulfilled & enlightened with. A splendidly mesmerizing reward it is indeed! Check it out.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. The Traveller
2. Gone Forver
3. Liar and a Thief
4. Inherit My Shadow
5. Last to Know
6. Lost
7. Never Beyond Repair
8. Brake
9. Control
10. One of Us
Nik Taylor‐Stoakes - Vocals
Matt Pearce - Guitar
Tom Gentry - Guitar
Tony Newton - Bass
Joe Lazarus - Drums
Record Label: Explorer1 Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green