Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Vorna - Ajastaika

by Katarzyna Zakolska at 26 August 2013, 6:29 PM

VORNA is band from Tampere / Kangasala, Finland founded back in 2008, playing melodic Black and Folk Metal with Finnish lyrics. The band’s new full length album ”Ajastaika” was just released in the band’s local market and will be discharged to the world soon enough.

“Kaivatun Uni” grasped my attention right from the start with full blown power in the rhythm section and quality melodic riffs. The accordion addition mixed well the melodic perspective of the guitars and the energetic feel of the song. Vesa Salovaara’s vocals poised as quite a contrast to the music. “Ikuiseen Iltaan” is another memorable chip displaying the same melodic patterns along with a flute showcase. “Hiiden Taival” is a heavy tracker with crushing riffs and a tight rhythm section display and symphonic dynamism channeling a noticeable Folk signature. This song lasts for over 8 minutes, an epic indeed. “Ukkonen” turned the tide with unleashing Black Metal, heavy riffery sharing various well played symphonic driven elements. “Harhan Liekki” appeared Middle Eastern, or Arabian, musically. A feast of blackened growls and melodic clean vocal singing christened with an amazing guitar solo and acoustic performance. “Muisto” surprised me with its Progressive Metal values, quite divergent and assorted, especially with its Folk Metal distributions.

Also worth to listen are: “Pakanaveri”, a blackened Folk and Black Metal of a fine composure. “Lehväin Varjoon”, a brutally melodic sequence while with power guitars, “Kuolevan Maan Kulkija” takes a different mood into something calmer, yet with a venom.

”Ajastaika” is reccomend for every Metalhead to a great integration of Black, Folk and melodic Metal while discovering other courses and templates of song writing. Have a go at it. 

4 Star Rating

1. Taakse Jää
2. Hiiden Taival
3. Ukkonen
4. Harhan Liekki
5. Kaivatun Uni
6. Lehväin Varjoon
7. Pakanaveri
8. Ensilumi
9. Ikuiseen Iltaan
10. Kuolevan Maan Kulkija
11. Muisto
Vesa Salovaara - Vocals
Arttu Järvisalo - Lead Guitar
Henri Lammintausta - Rhythm Guitar
Niilo Könönen - Bass
Saku Myyryläinen - Synths
Mikael Vanninen - Drums
Record Label: Inverse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green