Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

62 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Vulture Industries – Ghosts from the Past

Vulture Industries
Ghosts from the Past
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 19 May 2023, 5:43 AM

From Bandcamp, “While maintaining their unique sound, there’s a new direction for on their fifth album, as they lean towards the dark side of Hard Rock. “Ghosts from the Past” was written over a long period, and in a time of big changes both in their personal lives and in the world around us. This album is somehow a mirror of this. It reflects fear of a world spinning out of control, and a sense of powerlessness in the face of a world order falling apart. Crumbling only to be replaced by old ideas fronted by autocratic warlords with no sight in mind but their own power and legacy.” The album has seven songs.

“New Lords of Light” is the first. Bass guitar leads the charge, along with a smooth and somewhat hasty riff. The vocals are unique, with a good deal of vibrato, and some nice harmonies build as well. Some of that darkness they were talking about is also evident. “Saturn Devouring His Young” moves with a slower pace and a deeper grind. The vocals remain smooth and easy, while the music is somewhat depressing. Much of the melody in the song comes from the chorus, and they really drive it home. “This Hell is Mine” has a Southern Rock sound to it…like something out of a Tarantino film. The vocals drip with regret, while the bass guitar maintains the movement. The trumpet notes are a nice addition to the sound, and you feel like crawling into a hole.

“Deeper” has more trumpet notes, and they are played with a stoic sense. A jovial riff saunters in, over a bed of vocal notes and some keyboards. It’s so dark at this point that the sky remains grey forever and a steady rain falls. “Right Here in the Dark” has a funkier jaunt from the opening riff and bluesy leads. Bass guitar carries a little melody line in the verses and is joined by unassuming rhythms. The chorus is rousing, and he states quite clearly, “I want to stay right here in the dark.” You can feel his sentiment. “A Strangers Curse” is perhaps the most hopeless sound on the album. It moves slowly and without much talking back, almost as if the subject has already come to grips with his curse, and fighting back is futile. The pain comes through like a freight train in this song.

The lengthy “Tyrant Weep Alone” closes the album; a nine-minute, deep lament that closes the coffin on the album. If you can take it, hang in with the band while they put in another nail after another nail. The vocal harmonies are very expressive and many different backing elements make a thick, despondent sound, like those sax notes. Oh man, do they hit home. “Your head’s a long way up your ass” he quips. This is such a unique band. They blend many different elements together seamlessly, and their sound on the album is a combination of old school tendencies with a very modern twist. From smooth rhythms to expressive vocals, and meaty bass, this band knows how to keep you in the dark, as the title suggests.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. New Lords of Light
2. Saturn Devouring His Young
3. This Hell is Mine
4. Deeper
5. Right Here in the Dark
6. A Strangers Curse
7. Tyrants Weep Alone
Tor Helge Gjengedal – Drums, Percussion
Kyrre Teigen – Bass, Vocals
Øyvind Madsen – Guitars
Eivind Huse – Guitars, Vocals
Bjørnar Erevik Nilsen – Vocals, Guitars, Keys, Percussion
Hans Marius Andersen – Trumpet, Saxophone
Ine Terese Hogstad – Guest Vocals
Kyrre Teigen – Guest Keys
B. E. Nilsen – Accordion
Record Label: Dark Essence Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green