Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Jojo Hamilton, 65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Wasted - Electrified Award winner

by Craig Rider at 10 October 2019, 12:11 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: WASTED; signed via Denomination Records, hailing from Denmark grounds - performing Heavy Metal, on their 3rd album entitled: "Electrified" (released October 18th, 2019).

Since formation in 1981; the quintet in question have only 3 albums in their discography so far, I am introduced to their 3rd album entitled: "Electrified". 10 tracks ranging at around 35:59; WASTED arrange an intricately designed formula of hard-hitting Heavy Metal deveopments. "Halloween" begins the record; conveying a daunting hymn, amplified adrenaline & boistrously bouncy gnarliness. Amalgamated with a fuzzy element, a doomy atmosphere & concretely flamboyant grooves that ultilize uniquely versatile vehemence with seamlessly solid rhythms. Implementing harmonic jumpiness, killer lacerations & monstrously meaty melodies that manifest a crunchy aesthetic with catchy blends of chugging chaos, frolicking gallops and meticulous mayhem. Frantically fuelled with wildly rushing riffs, stampeding solos & riveting remedies.

Consisting of Mick 'Throath' Sonne on vocals; the frontman demonstrates clean, high-pitched lungs with rawly rough raspiness. The titular track showcases steely screams with vengeful pipes that supply punchline foundations of borderline finesse, and evil empowered creativity. Guitar duo Thomas X.mas Olsen & T. Pedersen excel with dynamic dexterity; complexly blistering virtuosity, quintessential thunder that portrays rapidly swift nimbleness & organic substance while providing ruthless pandemonium that soncially subjugates with razor-sharp ramifications. "Chained" shines with quirky snappiness; as audible bassist Claus Jepsen injects infectiously combustible firepower, fluidly polished thumpiness & pulsating tempos that revolves with volatile precision. Immersively conjuring detailed craftsmanship, songwriting memorability & originallity.

"Demons Re-calling" is a battering 2:45s hybrid; converging dimensional haste, deadly exuberence & mellifluous savagery. Stomping with profusely robust hammering distinctions from drumming powerhouse Alexander Bech Sørensen; slamming with pummelling yet relentlessly rambunctious stability. "Age Of Power" embellishes on experimental fabrications; fierce shreds that roar with ripping yet rumbling panache, varied with speedy patterns & trailblazing velocity. While "Forces Of Evil" stomps with prestigious momentum; thick maelstroms of subtle riffing fundamentals, consistently conceptual characteristics & a primitively potent vibrancy of stylish potential. Juxtaposed with rampantly upbeat grinds in which rampages with striking, bulldozing captivation.

"Evil" attributes distinguished efficaciousness, chunky inventivity & fashionably bombarding blitzkreig. Sublime yet venomous rituals shroud this virulently exquisite hymn, engaged on omnious oozes of persistent perseverence & malevolent remarkabilities that thrashes with splendid overarchs of traditional yet old-school Heavy Metal. "Your Own Private Pain" explores groundbreaking fretworks, neckbreaking sound production prodegiousness – radical technicalities & salubrious slabs of mighty sinew. "Ought To Be Bad" has a punky principle to it, contrasted with throbbing variability & an impressive boundary of exquisite euphonics that pump with polyphonic material. Overall concluding "Electrified" with the finale epic: "Toys In The Attic"; I am compelled to say that WASTED return with refreshing talent.

Bottom line; WASTED delivered a fantastic performance of modernized yet historic Heavy Metal malignance, for a band awakened from the dead - they certainly outdone themselves with "Electrified" and I hope they keep the flame burning for future projects - all metal maniacs should definitely give this a go, as it is an enjoyably entertaining discovery for sure. Rock on!

Songwriting: 9
Memorability: 8
Originality: 8
Sound Production: 9


4 Star Rating

1. Halloween
2. Electrified
3. Chained
4. Demons Re-calling
5. Age of Power
6. Forces of Evil
7. Evil
8. Your Own Private Pain
9. Ought to Be Bad
10. Toys in the Attic
Thomas X.mas Olsen - Guitars
Mick 'Throath' Sonne - Vocals
Claus Jepsen - Bass
Alexander Bech Sørensen - Drums
T. Pedersen - Guitars
Record Label: Denomination Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 25 May 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green