Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Dacpanoes30y, 38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Dacpanoes30y

Wayward Dawn – Haven Of Lies

Wayward Dawn
Haven Of Lies
by Joseph Hausmann at 18 March 2020, 3:29 PM

Based out of Denmark, WAYWARD DAWN is gearing up to release their sophomore album "Haven Of Lies" through the powerhouse metal label Mighty Music. Founded in 2015 this young Death Metal group has been on a blazing path. Four years removed from their inception, this group has gone on to play over forty live gigs throughout Denmark and Germany. Those high energy live gigs have had the support steamrolling for the band. The sound that this group produces is downright vicious and filthy. That sound has garnered them mentions in prominent magazines such as Metalhammer and GAFFA. They have clawed their way out of the underground and are beginning to get recognition in the metal community. And rightly so as their traditional Death Metal sound offers a revitalization of the old school sounds.

"Misery" begins the album off with an ominous foreboding warning. The overtones of the decay of society and human greed are powerful and set the stage for an album that dives deep into the heart of those issues. This ambient intro track is the only respite you will get from the powerhouse sounds that they produce. It is effectively the calm before a violent storm. "Upheaval Of Earth" opens up to the viciousness of WAYWARD DAWN. The vocals drive the power behind the music and are accentuated with well-made dirty guitar riffs. The band produces an eviscerating wall of sound that blends well together.

The term "Sophomania" is the delusion of having superior intelligence. The song fits well with the lyrical theme of diving into the abyss of the darker side of the human psyche. Musically, this track offers ominous tones layered upon bone crushing drums and paired with nasty growls. "Rotten Sphere" sees the band take an even heavier direction with filthy guitar riffs that will have you head banging in no time. The riffs while dirty offer an almost groove vibe that you can really sink your ears into. The breakdown in the middle of the track prepares you for another round of heavy vocal work and powerful riffs. "Bliss" gives us a haunting acoustic guitar riff that really hits to the depth of your soul. The melody created is dark and then layered upon an eerie tone of an organ. Whispers begin to build at the end of the track providing a transition to the next track. "Apathy" is a heavy hitting track that continues to drive the power set by the band. The riffs are slower and then explode intermittently to provide a sense of chaos. The guitar solo that breaks through mid track is well done and gives just enough of a break before descending you backs into the depths of their powerful sound.

Traditional Death Metal has always provided a sense of power while also giving us warnings about the world around us. WAYWARD DAWN is no different when it comes to this aspect of Death Metal but that also makes them a powerful force to be reckoned with. Society needs to be reminded from time to time that if we continue down the path we are on, we make our own destruction. It is one aspect of many that has drawn me to this genre. With that sense of warning the music needs to be nasty, haunting, and downright frightening. That warning needs to feel authentic and that is exactly what WAYWARD DAWN gives us with their latest release "Haven Of Lies" that is set to hit the world in April of 2020. I recommend checking this album out especially if traditional Death Metal is right for you. And you should check it out even if it isn’t. It never hurts to expand your horizons!

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Misery
2. Upheaval of Earth
3. Sophomania
4. Rotten Sphere
5. Bliss
6. Abhorrent Ignorance
7. Ridicule
8. Apathy
9. Slaves of the Self
Rasmus Johansen – Guitar/Vocals
Kasper Szupienko Petersen – Bass/Vocals
Jakob Kristensen – Guitar
Lukas Nysted – Drums
Record Label: Mighty Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 06 April 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green