Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, profokanmar57

Wayward Sons - Ghosts of Yet to Come Award winner

Wayward Sons
Ghosts of Yet to Come
by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 02 December 2017, 9:21 AM

“Go to the past, young ones” seems to be a weird way to make music to some. Sorry, but I’m a guy that thinks that what is in the past must be left there. But everyone can make music on old forms, it’s not forbidden to do so. What you must have is personality, to be different from bands that already exist. WAYWARD SONS has personality, as their new album, “Ghosts of Yet to Come” is here to show.

It’s form of Hard Rock with that energy and scent from the 70s, in the same vein of bands like THIN LIZZY. So you can expect catchy melodies, heavy and melodic grasp from guitars, a heavy rhythmic insight from drums and bass guitar, and good keyboards parts. Oh, and the vocals are good as well. Let me tell you: this album really sounds lovely to our minds. “Ghosts of Yet to Come” was produced by Chris D’Adda and the band, with Chris doing the mixing along with Toby Jepson, and the mastering was done by Jon Moorhead. Everything to make the sound of the album truly perfect, keeping the raw energy from the 70s, but with a modern aesthetic. You can understand all the musical instruments separately, and how good are the tunes they have chosen.

Don’t expect something new from “Ghost of Yet to Come”. It’s not what the quintet is about, and you can bet that some songs will get you. Songs as the nasty and heavy energy from “Alive”, the charming and accessible melodies of “Until The End” (what a lovely recollection of excellent guitars and vocals), the raw harmonies of “Ghost”, the hypnotic Hard Rock aesthetics of “Don’t Wanna Go” (Toby Jepson is really a great singer, let me tell you), the beautiful melodic structures of “Give It Away”, the bitter weight of the 70s’ energy of “Killing Time” and its amazing chorus, and… Fuck, who I am trying to deceive? The entire album is excellent! Listen to it from the beginning to its end, and you’ll be hooked by the first time!

What a lovely band…

Originality: 8
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Alive
2. Until The End
3. Ghost
4. Don’t Wanna Go
5. Give It Away
6. Killing Time
7. Crush
8. Be Still
9. Small Talk
10. Something Wrong
11. Get Loose
Toby Jepson - Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Sam Wood - Guitar
Dave Kemp - Keyboards
Nic Wastell - Bass guitar
Phil Martini - Drums
Record Label: Frontiers Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green