Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook



Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, 9claudiac173th9

Witch Mountain - Witch Mountain

Witch Mountain
Witch Mountain
by Eric Poulin at 14 June 2018, 10:47 AM

WITCH MOUNTAIN is a doom metal band based out of Portland, Oregon. They were formed back in 1997 and this is their 5th full-length release entitled “Witch Mountain”, released on Svart Records on May 25th 2018. It contains 5 tracks with a total of 35:07 minutes of music.

The opening track “Midnight” pounds the flesh like Iron Man with the grace of Kayla Dixon’s vocals. It has a great groove reminiscent of DOWN, with a tinge of bluesy melancholy and some occasional shrieking from Rob Wrong. This is a strong start to the album; one that will make you headbang in appreciation.

“Mechanical World” has a bit of a LED ZEPPELIN/RUSH feel to it in the early moments. There are some nice tempo changes here even though the vocals show off the same of emotion throughout. Even if the riffs are somewhat repetitive at times, they serve their purpose really in the overall structure of the song.  We even get a nice dose of soothing vocal melodies near the halfway mark.

“Burn You Down” has a much more sinister side to it. It shows off the dark and muddy side of the band’s persona. The rhythm guitars here really shine through, with one of the most memorable riffs on the album so far. The balance between the slow pounding riffs and the faster strumming is done to perfection.

“Hellfire” is more of an interlude with sounds of wind, burning fires and bells with beautiful acoustic guitars and some piano that would make THE MOODY BLUES proud. It transitions to the epic song “Nighthawk”, a 14-minute journey that starts with some distant guitars and center stage bass lines. It slowly and methodically takes you into the depths of melancholy and never lets go. It has some of the more aggressive passages of the album filled with screams and chaotic drumming/guitars and only lets you take your breath with a crescendo of feedback that slowly dissipates.

Overall, I can say this never really does not disappoint. They have a great heavy sound with so much heart and soul in the vocals. I strongly recommend checking this album out.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Midnight
2. Mechanical World
3. Burn You Down
4. Hellfire
5. Nighthawk
Nathan Carson - Drums
Rob Wrong - Guitars, Vocals
Justin Brown - Bass
Kayla Dixon - Vocals
Record Label: Svart Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 24 May 2019

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green