Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Intelligent Music Project - The Creation Award winner

Intelligent Music Project
The Creation
by Mike McMahan at 10 April 2021, 8:55 PM

INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT is the brainchild of Bulgarian doctor, businessman and patron of the arts Milen Vrabevski, and “The Creation” marks the sixth record to come out of the project. The previous records have featured such rock luminaries as Simon PhillipsNathan East and John Lawton, and this album follows up nicely, featuring a Murderer’s Row of fantastic vocalists in Ronnie Romero (VANDENBERGMICHAEL SCHENKER GROUPLORDS OF BLACK and RAINBOW), Carl Sentence (NAZERETH), John Payne (ex-ASIA) and Richard Grisman (RIVER HOUNDS). Also onboard for this release are percussionists Bobby Rondinelli (RAINBOWBLACK SABBATH) and Todd Sucherman (STYX). Along with the above-mentioned artists, the supergroup also features some of the finest musicians Bulgaria has to offer.

“The Creation” is a concept album of the highest order. From the promo material, it “talks about the fear, the inner signals, voices and the techniques to cope with everyday life’s challenges. It is about the status of an empathetic witness of your own life”. Vrabevski, it is my understanding, wrote the twelve tracks that make up the record, and has formed this impressive group to bring his songs to life.

Opening the record is the song “A Sense Of Progress”, with some great guitar work from Bisser Ivanov and an almost later era SCORPIONS-like hook. The tune is well crafted, both musically and lyrically, and the energy it is presented with makes it a great opening cut. The production values here are very good, as well, with the mix making everything pop. A beautiful, neo-classical electric flows into acoustics for “The Story”, which features a Ronnie Romero vocal in the first verse and great musicianship across the board. The song takes on a different life after the initial introduction, with an almost eighties progressive feel about it. A truly fantastic guitar solo highlights the song for me.

If you are looking for a true Heavy Metal album, you will be quite disappointed in this release. If, however, you are looking for a heartfelt and well produced cycle of songs, this is right down your alley. The musicianship alone is worth the price of admission.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. A Sense Of Progress
2. The Story
3. A Shelter
4. Listen
5. Your Thoughts
6. Sometimes
7. Back To The Truth
8. Let It Go
9. A Sight
10. That Something
11. I Know
12. Serve
Ronnie Romero – Lead and Backing Vocals
Carl Sentence – Backing Vocals and Adlibs
John Payne – Lead and Backing Vocals
Richard Grisman – Lead and Backing Vocals
Bobby Rondinelli – Drums and Percussion
Todd Sucherman – Drums and Percussion
Bisser Ivanov – Guitar
Ivaylo Zvezdomirov – Bass
Vasil Vutev – Drums and Percussion
Ivo Stefanov – Keyboards
Record Label: Intelligent Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 May 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green