Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Signum Regis - Flag Of Hope Award winner

Signum Regis
Flag Of Hope
by Mike McMahan at 04 July 2021, 8:18 AM

SIGNUM REGIS is a Slovak Power Metal band, originally formed by Ronnie Konig in 2007, and featured the legendary Goran Edman on vocals until 2011. They released their self-titled debut in 2008, and including digital only formats, have had eight releases since, including the five-song digital EP, “Flag Of Hope” in the Fall of 2020. They have had a few lineup changes throughout the years, with Konig, guitarist Filip Kolus and keyboardist Jan Tupy remaining the three originals in the group. They were joined in 2010 by drummer Jaro Jancula, and in 2019 by vocalist Jota Fortinho.

Fans of the digital “Flag OF Hope” release have now been rewarded with a physical CD release, which has been remixed and remastered by Jacob Hansen. The CD also contains two additional tracks, the hauntingly beautiful, Kolus penned instrumental, “Amorenada”, and the re-recorded “Tune Of War”, both from a digital only released EP, “Addendum Primum” from 2017. The latter song now features Fortinho handling the lead vocal with former vocalist, Mayo Petranin, on backing vocals. The band is an impressive musical entity, and one listen to these seven songs should serve as all the evidence one needs to back that statement.

It doesn’t take long for SIGNUM REGIS to grab the attention of even the most casual listener with the opening riffs and vocal histrionics of “Given Up For Lost”. The song is an aural pile driver, never wasting a note and slamming headlong into the record. Particularly of interest for me was the talent of Filip Kolus, who burns through the tune with a reckless abandon. His fills throughout are a thing of beauty, fast and melodic enough to never feel excessive. Tupy’s work here is also of note.

The ANGRA cover, “Stand Away”, is absolutely gorgeous. Fortinho’s vocal prowess is on full display here, as is Tupy’s somewhat regal sounding keyboard work. The song is an outstanding display of faith-based lyricism, as well, beautifully written and performed here exceptionally well. I have already touched upon the instrumental track “Amorenada”, but it bears repeating that this presentation is as good as any instrumental track in recent memory, elegantly restrained and flowing beautifully. Kolus’ guitar work is exceptional, and, as if I needed more reason, automatically recommends this release.

This is certainly deserving a full-fledged CD release, without question. All told, a very powerful and exceedingly beautiful record.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Given Up For Lost
2. Stand Away
3. Voyage To The Distant Shores
4. Flag Of Hope
5. Tune Of War
6. Amorenada
7. Ava Maria
Joao Jota Fortinho – Vocals
Ronnie Konig – Bass
Filip Kolus – Guitar
Jan Tupy – Keyboards and Backing Vocals
Jaro Jancula – Drums
Record Label: Beyond The Storm Productions


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 September 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green