Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, sparkly38

ABSOLVA: Announce the release of their fifth studio album, "Side By Side"

Added 16 January 2020, 10:23 PM

Manchester-based melodic metal band Absolva announce the release of their fifth studio album ‘Side by Side’ on 17th April. This follows on from their previous albums ‘Flames of Justice’ (2012), ‘Anthems to the Dead’ (2014), ‘Never a Good Day to Die’ (2015) and ‘Defiance’ (2017).

With drums recorded in Belgium in November 2018 and all other parts recorded at Rocksector HQ in Manchester during 2019/2020, this album is certainly a labour of love. The band has enjoyed the time to develop the songs compared to previous tight studio schedules. Production has been handled by frontman Christopher Appleton, whilst mastering comes from Ade Emsley who is noted for his work with Iron Maiden, Blaze Bayley, Air Race, Voodoo Six and Tank. The stunning front cover art is by Akirant Illustration (Iron Maiden, Blaze Bayley, Star Wars).

Absolva is fronted by Christopher Appleton (lead vocals / lead guitar) and his brother Luke Appleton (rhythm guitar / backing vocals) who is also notable as long-standing bassist with US metallers Iced Earth. The rhythm section is Martin Mcnee and Karl Schramm on drums and bass respectively. All four members are experienced professionals with an impressive pedigree recording and touring as the band of Blaze Bayley (formerly of Iron Maiden and Wolfsbane) and have also toured as support artist with Iced Earth, Saxon, Michael Schenker and Y&T.

The band follows no trend, instead writing and performing from the heart and ‘Side by Side’ is a collection of melodic metal compositions, founded on traditional British heavy metal with massive hooks. At the same time, Absolva has never been scared to mix things up and listeners will find the new album includes different textures which refreshingly take the listener into more modern, slightly progressive territory from time-to-time. The album contains ten new original Absolva songs plus two bonus tracks which are covers of ‘2 Minutes to Midnight’ (Iron Maiden), plus ‘Heaven and Hell’ (Black Sabbath), both of which have featured from time-to-time in the band’s live set.

In addition to the UK, Absolva has developed an audience in Europe, with an emerging fanbase in Germany, France and Belgium especially enthusiastic. A South American debut tour begins 16th January, followed by a headline show at Spirit and Friends Festival, France and a slot at Burrfest, London (in memory of former Iron Maiden drummer Clive Burr). In April the band will play a European Tour including a headline slot at the inaugural Piano Fruhlings Metal Meeting in Dortmund, Germany, plus club shows in Germany, France, Belgium and Netherlands.

A variety of pre-order options are available now.

For more information please visit the band’s official website Home Page | Mysite

Track listing….
1.     Advocate Your Fate
2.     Burning Star
3.     The Sky’s Your Limit
4.     Side by Side
5.     Living a Lie
6.     Legion
7.     Eternal Soul
8.     End of Days
9.     Heart Let’s Go
10.   From This World
Bonus Tracks….
11. 2 Minutes to Midnight (Iron Maiden cover)
12. Heaven and Hell (Black Sabbath cover)

Tour dates….
16 Brazil, Rio De Janeiro, Kubrick
17 Brazil, Belo Horizonte, Underground Pub
18 Brazil, Brasilia, Toinha Rock Show
19 Brazil, Londrina, Cativeiro Bar
23 Brazil, Limeira, Bar Da Monthana
24 Brazil, Vila Velha, Correria Bar
25 Brazil, Pomerode, Wox Club
26 Brazil, Sao Paulo, Manifesto Bar

14 Netherlands, Emmen, The Spot
15 France, Calonne Ricouart, Spirit and Friends Metal Fest

7 London, Tufnell Park, Burr Fest

18 Germany, Dortmund, Piano Fruhlings Metal Meeting
19 Belgium, Lens, Titans Club
22 Germany, Oldenburg, MTS
23 Netherlands, Geleen, De Meister
24 Germany, Siegen, Vortex
26 Belgium, Deinze, Café Elpee Fest
29 France, Lyon, Rock n Eat

1 Germany, Konstanz, Backstage Rock Café
2 Germany, Balingen, Sonnenkeller

9 Denmark, Fredericia, Metal Magic Festival

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green