Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, ericpoulin

Iniquity - Five Across The Eyes (Reissue) Award winner

Five Across The Eyes (Reissue)
by Craig Rider at 05 May 2021, 3:28 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: INIQUITY; signed via Emanzipation Productions, hailing from Denmark grounds - performing Technical Death Metal, on their sophomore album entitled: "Five Across The Eyes" (a reissue from 1999 re-released on March 26th, 2021).

Since formation in 1989; the quartet in question have 2 Demos entitled: "Entering Deception" (released in 1992), "Promo 93" (released in 1993). An EP entitled: "The Hidden Lore" (released in 1998), a Single entitled: "Revel In Cremation" (released in 2002). 2 Compilations entitled: "Iniquity Bloody Iniquity" (released in 2003), and "Entering Deception / Promo 93" (released June 14th, 2013). Along with 3 Full-Length Album entitled: "Serenadium" (released June 13th, 1996), "Grime" (released in 2001) & this here 2nd album that I am introduced to entitled: "Five Across The Eyes". 10 tracks ranging at around 44:37; INIQUITY arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Technical Death Metal developments.

Opening up with this blistering barraged frenzy, a ripping momentum on wildly rushing synergies that revel with ruthless pandemonium & sulfurous remedies, while surging with primitively raw strikes, "Inhale The Ghost" unleashes rampantly rompy maelstrom technicalities that trailblaze with steamrolling ramifications. Thundering with punchy jumpiness, boisterously bouncy calamities and bruising grooves, gravitational adrenaline amplifies with rip roaring shreds while slaying with bulldozing firepower expertise - a borderline foundation in belting harmonies chisel with profusely robust mayhem. As guitar duo Brian Eriksen & Mads Haarløv both fret with volatile precision, swerving with sonically seamless dexterity and rapidly swift nimbleness that dynamically distils diligently fluid progression.

Consisting of Mads who while does an excelling pursuit of twinning guitar hooks along with Brian, he also performs on the raspy throatiness of the vocals. The frontman barks, bellows and shouts with yelling gutturals, growling with strong aggression while converging extreme cords that execute hardened panache. "Surgical Orb" organically clobbers a breakneck substance, sturdy thuds utilize uniquely versatile vehemence where weighty tightness & speedy malice malevolently thrashes you with skyrocketing snares where chugging gallops belt an impactful enforcement of technical piledrives. Rambunctiously pounding a hammering gunfire from battering drummer Jesper Frost Jensen who also intensifies a flamboyantly complex drill that slams with quintessential virtuosity & concretely gritty finesse.

"Sidereal Seas" quakes you with berserking chaos, exhilarating hits continuously smack with full force impact, stampeding with venomously audible bass from thumper Thomas Fagerlind. Injecting an infectiously bombarding stomp of flickering experimentation where this majestically hybrid hymn mythically strums with elegant deathliness near the end - as if the tempestuous seas run restless to the tempos within. "Random Bludgeon Battery" shares quirky vibrancy, catchy lacerations kills and nails you with zealously mountainous synergy… merging groundbreaking onslaughts that torpedo with slashing incision as immensely empowering crunchiness captivates you to break chairs over other chairs while unleashing the ultimate mosh pit within your vicinity especially as "From Tarnished Soil" begs you to rattle your skull with utmost maximum heat from its maddening yet salubriously mighty haste on scattering riffs and hefty volleys.

"Reminiscence" offers you a brief reprieve with this soundscape interlude as an atmospherically ambient pianist segment intrudes from impending havoc, a hint of blasphemous and blackened eeriness distributes before bringing the vivacious badassery back tenfold with "Pyres Of Atonement". Revolving with oscillating crescendos as blast beating filth crafts eccentric chunkiness, as bizarre but high-octane sawing rips & tears with systematic patterns of outbursting triggers that will transfix your neck with spellbinding barbarity. Advancing into "The Rigor Mortified Grip", a grandiose grandeur in creatively complex furocity and inventively visceral solidity slabs a bashful chop with outrageously rampaging significance where the guitars swerve with sudden & whirlwinding velocity.

The penultimate track “Forensic Alliance” one-two pounds with scorching meatiness & monstrously savage aggression. Gnarly distortion implements an intriguing magnitude on razor-sharp vigour, pumping out spitting relishments while striving riffs swell with scattering agility. Finishing off this enticing embodiment, fuelling an effective slice of Technical Death Metal immersivity with the overall concluding mammoth “Cocooned” shows off more of those prestigiously prodigious shreds that brilliantly astounds me with banging entertainment, an incredibly epic album that most definitely deserves the re-release.

Bottom line; INIQUITY certainly outdone themselves with “Five Across The Eyes”, an impressive deliverance of magnetic virtuose that made me replay this one a good handful of times. Worthy of a few spins, do check it out!

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Inhale the Ghost
2. Surgical Orb
3. Sidereal Seas
4. Random Bludgeon Battery
5. From Tarnished Soil
6. Reminiscence
7. Pyres of Atonement
8. The Rigor Mortified Grip
9. Forensic Alliance
10. Cocooned
Thomas Fagerlind - Bass
Jesper Frost Jensen - Drums
Mads Haarløv - Guitars/Vocals
Brian Eriksen - Guitars
Record Label: Emanzipation Productions


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green