Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Night Demon - Live Darkness Award winner

Night Demon
Live Darkness
by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 23 August 2018, 6:01 AM

Live albums were, in the 70s and 80s, a way that many bands could try to show their fans from countries that they couldn’t show (due to political complications, as communism in east Europe, or monetary, because some countries were true expensive to visit) how they were on a live show, to present to their fans the sensation of being on a live concert. Today, this format is not use as it was in the past. Although some live albums are a loss of time, there are those that when you hear, you have to praise the band effusively. That’s the case of the “Live Darkness”, the first double live album from North American trio NIGHT DEMON.

The trio plays a Heavy/Speed Metal formula that was known on the 80s, but on their hands it works perfectly, even not being something really new. But what is amazing is that the band’s music transpires a feeling that it’s done with heart and soul, that it’s honest and not forced. It’s amazing the energy, the way they work with their melodies, everything. And the trio seems to be a quartet, a quintet or greater that this due the hard and grasping energy that they bear. Their songs are really excellent, showing charming melodies and great musical arrangements.

Live albums can be an illusion sometimes, due the quantities of overdubs on the songs (what tears out the live sensation, because there are corrections on mistakes done on the shows), but here things aren’t in this way. “Live Darkness” really sounds as a live show, obviously taking advantage of modern recording techniques, but always sounding honest and full of energy. And honesty is the feeling that NIGHT DEMON’s songs shows. There are 23 tracks in two discs.

On the disc one, the savage and great energy of “Welcome to the Night” (very good melodies and chorus), “Full Speed Ahead” with its amazing guitars, the savage approach of “Ritual” (some of its musical elements comes from earlier North American Speed Metal), the charming melodies of “Curse of the Damned”, the Hard ‘n’ Heavy sharp melodies of “Save Me Now”, and the nasty energy of “Maiden Hell” and “Mastermind” are the finest moments.

On the disc two, the Hard ‘n’ Roll tempos of “The Howling Man” (very good vocals), the heavy and melodic grasp of “Black Widow”, the nasty guitars of “Ancient Evil” and “Satan”, their version for “Evil Like a Knife” (an old MIDNIGHT song, that has the vocalist Athenar as special guest), the fast and blunt “Screams in the Night”, the bitter weigh of “Darkness Remains”, and their personal hymn “Night Demon” can be pointed as the best ones. But the best choice is to put both of the discs to play entirely.

This live album is really amazing, like many others fail to be. So let NIGHT DEMON seduce you with “Live Darkness”. You won’t regret this experience!

Originality: 8
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

Disc 1:

1. Welcome to the Night
2. Full Speed Ahead
3. Ritual
4. Curse of the Damned
5. Dawn Rider
6. Save Me Now
7. Hallowed Ground
8. Maiden Hell
9. Mastermind
10. On Your Own
11. Life On the Run

Disc 2:

1. The Howling Man
2. Black Widow
3. Ancient Evil
4. Satan
5. Evil Like a Knife (Midnight cover)
6. Stranger in the Room
7. Screams in the Night
8. Flight of the Manticore
9. The Chalice
10. Darkness Remains
11. Heavy Metal Heat
12. Night Demon
Jarvis Leatherby - Vocals, Bass
Armand John Anthony - Guitars
Dusty Squires - Drums
Record Label: SPV/Steamhammer


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green