Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Sator - Return of the Barbie-Q-Killers

Return of the Barbie-Q-Killers
by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 17 August 2022, 8:44 AM

What makes a band go on after many and many years? This question can have endless answers, and maybe none of them is enough to make things clear. The best is to think that they (the bands) still have things to do. And the Swedish quintet SATOR is still here after a long time, now coming with “Return of the Barbie-Q-Killers”. Their music isn’t so simple to define, but the best is to say that they’re a quintet of Punk Rock music in the vein of RAMONES and THE CLASH that is heavily influenced by filthy Hard Rock acts as AC/DC, and with some nasty touches of MOTÖRHEAD. And here, the band is bringing a set of songs of bands they grew up listening to, as a sequence for “Barbie-Q-Killers vol. 1” (released back in 1994). Well, the best is to listen and enjoy. The production worked as it must: not creating something artificial. It’s like the band entered the studio, set things as a rehearsal, and played as they’re used to. It’s full of energy and is spontaneous as well, but with a very good level of definition (to be crude and organic doesn’t mean to be fuzzy).

“Get out of My Way” (a fast and catchy song, based on a Rockabilly form, with nasty vocals and backing vocals), “Shimmy Shake” (the taste of Pop Rock is amazing, and its accessibility can be easily heard due the focus on bass guitar and drums’ simple work), “Pumps, Purse and a Pillbox Hat” (this one clearly depicts a 70’s energy, with nasty guitars filling all the spaces), “Out of Time” and “Häll” (both songs are truly Punk Rock themes, with focus on an aggressive simple guitar riffing), “Do the Fast” (this one shows a mezzo Rock ‘n’ Roll and mezzo Punk Rock outfit, reminds a lot old RAMONES’ energy), “If I Can’t Have What I Want, I Don’t Want Anything” (the use of effects and samples gave an Industrial Rock taste to the living Hardcore energy of the song), “Backstage Pass” (back to the 60’s/70’s Psychedelic essence, but with a commercially accessible appeal), “I’m Bored” and “How Could You?” (both songs still accessible, but both are back to Punk Rock/Hard Rock energy), “In with the Crowd” and “Supply and Demand” (these two depict how Hard Rock and Punk Rock shares the same source of energy), and “3 Chord Rock” are the right ones for having an idea of what this release is up to (and don’t ask me about the original songs and who are the artists who recorded them, because I didn’t look for such info).

Ok, “Return of the Barbie-Q-Killers” is a very good release, but 24 songs can be excessive for a non-fan, but SATOR seems to not care about this.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Get out of My Way
2. Shimmy Shake
3. Brown Eyed Son
4. Pumps, Purse and a Pillbox Hat
5. Out of Time
6. Mental Case
7. Häll
8. Rocket and a Rose
9. Do the Fast
10. (I Need) Action
11. You Don’t Seem Real
12. If I Can’t Have What I Want, I Don’t Want Anything
13. Vicious Circle
14. Backstage Pass
15. I’m Bored
16. How Could You?
17. Go Away Girl
18. Gå Til Gud
19. Dog Eat World
20. In with the Crowd
21. Supply and Demand
22. Big Burden
23. Slam
24. 3 Chord Rock
Kent Norberg - Vocals, Guitar
Chips Kiesbye - Vocals, Guitar
Heikki Kiviaho - Bass, Backing Vocals
Hans Gäfvert - Keyboards, Sounds, Samples
Mikael Solén - Drums
Record Label: Wild Kingdom Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 08 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green